The UK Statistics Authority has designated the school-level examination statistics for England - that are published as part of the school and college performance tables – as National Statistics, in accordance with the Statistics and Registration Service Act 2007 and signifying compliance with the Code of Practice for Official Statistics.

Designation can be broadly interpreted to mean that the statistics:

  • meet identified user needs
  • are well explained and readily accessible
  • are produced according to sound methods
  • are managed impartially and objectively in the public interest

Once statistics have been designated as National Statistics it is a statutory requirement that the Code of Practice shall continue to be observed.

The school-level examination statistics for England that are designated as National Statistics are:

Achievement and attainment

  • National curriculum test results at end of primary (key stage 2)
  • GCSE and equivalent results at secondary (key stage 4)
  • A level and vocational results at 16-18 at school or college

Progress measures

  • From key stage 1 to key stage 2
  • From key stage 2 to key stage 4
  • From key stage 4 to key stage 5